Psalm 118:19-29; Mark 12:1-12
There were many servants. There is only one Son.
We read Jesus’ parable in the light of Peter’s confession – “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God” (Mark 8:29) – and God’s declaration – “This is My Beloved Son” (Mark 9:7).
In this parable, Jesus is speaking to us about Himself. He is the Son of God, the only Son of God, the Beloved Son of God.
In this parable, we read about the uniqueness of our Lord Jesus Christ.There is no-one like Him. There never has been. There never will be. All who came before Him were servants of God. He is the Son of God. All who came after Him were servants of God. He is the Son of God.
In this parable, Jesus is not only telling us about who He is. He’s telling us about what was going to happen to Him – “they took him and killed him” (Mark 12:8). This is more than a parable. It’s a prophecy. Jesus is speaking to us about His crucifixion.
He’s also telling us the crucifixion was not the end of His story. After the crucifixion, there was His resurrection.
This is what Jesus is speaking about when He quotes Psalm 118:22-23 – “The stone which the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone. This was the Lord’s doing and it is marvellous in our eyes.”
How are we to respond to the resurrection of Christ, this mighty fulfilment of the prophecy from Psalm 118?
Let’s go back to the Psalm from which the prophecy comes – Psalm 118.
Let’s learn, from the Psalmist, about praising God: “I will praise You, Lord” (Psalm 118:19), “I will praise You, for You have answered me, and have become my salvation” (Psalm 118:21), “You are my God, and I will praise You; You are my God, I will exalt You. Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures for ever” (Psalm 118:28-29).
In this Psalm, the last verse (Psalm 118:29) is the same as the first verse (Psalm 118:1). It’s a call to give thanks to the Lord.
This is how we are to respond to Jesus Christ, crucified for us and risen for us. we are to give thanks to Him – Thank You, Jesus, for coming to earth for me. Thank You, Jesus, for dying on the Cross for me. Thank You, Jesus, for rising from the dead for me.
Where does this prayer of thanksgiving come from? Does it come from within our own hearts? – No! It is put into our hearts by God – “His mercy endures for ever.”
When we don’t feel like praising God, He keeps on coming to us with His Word of  love and grace and mercy. He speaks to us of Jesus. He says, “This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him. Trust Him. Love Him. Thank Him. Praise Him. Give to Him all the glory.”
