Don’t say, “Jesus is a great man – nothing more than that.”

“As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. And a voice from heaven said, ‘This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.'” (Matthew 3:16-17).

Many people think of Jesus as a great man. There’s more to Jesus than that. He’s the Son of God.

Jesus is the Son of God. We can’t get away from this, when we read the Gospels. If we are to respect what the Gospels say to us about Jesus, we cannot come with the attitude, “I don’t believe in God, but I want to learn more about the man, Jesus.” Again and again, the Gospels are saying to us, “You cannot understand Jesus without believing in God.” Whatever you may say about Jesus, you will not be saying what the Gospels say to us about him.

If we are to honour what the Gospels say to us about Jesus, we must listen to these words and learn from them: “A voice from heaven said, ‘This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.'”


Discover more from Learning From God's Word

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

One thought on “Don’t say, “Jesus is a great man – nothing more than that.”

  1. Thanks, LightWriters, Donald, Jessy, Beholding Him Ministries, Eileen, He has set me free, Ryan, B G and Ccoutreach, for liking this post. God bless each of you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.